Uncategorized

I had a dream…

I don’t quite remember the reason
But I was rescuing some little kids
From a nursery, day care, something like that

I found a route
That I was certain would set us all free
But someone made a noise
We hid
But they found us
They found the kids
They found me

I gave myself up
Instead of running away
The officer handcuffed me
But I remember that I was much stronger than he
And much stronger than the woman
Who presided over the hunt
And the cuffs were loose
Very loose

I was about to escape
But the thought occurred to me
I could run
And easily go free
But they would look for me
And I would be a wanted man
Until they caught me
So I resigned
But made sure the cuffs stayed loose

Such a strange dream
Quite vivid
Maybe it had something
To do with my late night trip

I saw him with my own eyes
And he looked back at me
But lifeless
Helpless
So tiny
Curled up

We left for the ER at Two AM
We left for home at Four
The sad recipients of the news
That she can drink caffeine again
And play with cats
Because the baby we were just beginning to love
Didn’t make it to his eighth week

Farewell, my love
My tears are real
I wish you were here to see them
To feel them
I wish it didn’t have to be
This way

So sacred a person to me
Unsacredly you left
Unable to enjoy even
A pauper’s grave

I wonder where you are
I wonder if you heard me sing to you
I wonder if you felt me keep you warm
I am left here to wonder

Maybe I’ll see you one day
And maybe you’ll remember
Your daddy’s voice
And the love that made it sing

But today
I cry

Standard

One thought on “I had a dream…

  1. for him

    in heaven
    he’ll know, he had an earthly father who loved him too.

    if i say, “surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
    even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

    for you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
    i praise you because i am fearfully and wonderfully mde;
    your works are wonderful,
    i know that full well.
    my frame was not hidden from you
    when i was made in the secret place.
    when i was woven together in the depths of the earth,
    your eyes saw my unformed body.
    all the days ordained for me
    were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

    how precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
    how vast is the sum of them!
    were i to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand
    when i am awake,

    i am still with you.

Leave a Reply

