Uncategorized

Sex Traffickers

I was browsing through http://www.nytimes.com this morning and found this magazine feature. Be forewarned that it is a very long article.

I am too overwhelmed right now to do much reflection. But I can say that after reading it, I picked up my guitar, and sang for these girls:

“But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord.
I wait for God my Savior, my God will hear me.

“We will walk in the name of the Lord our God forever, forever, forever.”

I cry for them, pray for them, and ask God that he will crush their captors. The Psalms were right, may the Lord’s enemies be scattered.

I just finished preaching on the three goals of our church for 2004 (I will post up the outline soon), and I see such a deep connection between the dark plight of these girls and the mission of our church, of THE church.

I’m too speechless right now…

Standard

3 thoughts on “Sex Traffickers

  1. Anonymous says:

    from Rob

    Hey Brian,

    I just read that article as well. The most depressing thing about it was the bit about that older American man who would read Bible passages to the girl before and after he had intercourse with her. How disgusting is that? I don’t understand how one could read from the Bible to a 12- year old girl from Mexico and then perform such an act with her. It’s utterly incomprehensible.

    • Re: from Rob

      Yes, reading Bible passages and then degrading her…that is true evil, when you turn what is good into a tool for evil, and what is happening to these young girls is truly evil. Pure evil. I wish I knew how we could stop this growing trend.

Leave a Reply

