Uncategorized

Goodnight


It’s 4 a.m. right now.  I just finished one of my papers.  I got an extension on one of my papers, thankfully.


Admittedly, I was also upgrading my wife’s old laptop and watching Average Joe…which my wife made me watch.  I just realized that I’m making her sound really bad…she’s not.  She’s great.  She doesn’t know I’m upgrading her laptop and she just wanted company while she watched utter trash.


I just got an email from chana that there actually are people who are interested in coming over to our house for Valentine’s, so I need to figure something out.  I’ve heard ideas about fondue, potluck…I won’t be back home until 7 p.m., unfortunately, but I’m thinking I want some good ol’ BBQ.  Since it’s only a few people, maybe we’ll rent movie or something.


Oh yeah, and before I forget…I found out this Sunday that I have a budget to go to some training conferences, which is great.  So far, I’m thinking of the Emergent Convention (Emergent Village) and The Origins Conference (Mosaic).  Basically, I’m interested in conferences that will help me lead our church engage our culture and bring them to Jesus.  Anyone have any other suggestions?  Anyone interested in coming along?


Alrighty, I’m off to bed.  It’s now 4:11 a.m.

Standard

2 thoughts on “

  1. mmm so good girl introduced me to the emerging church concept… said you were all over it.  and since i needed to order more stuff to get free shipping at amazon, i ordered that emerging church book.  it better be good.

  2. Hmmm…I wonder who good girl is…
    The Emerging Church by Dan Kimball will definitely not disappoint.  There are a lot of good books on the subject, and this is one of the more accessible ones.  There’s a really good integration of theology, methodology, praxis, and discussion.  It’s like a smart manual, or a practical theology.  I felt like I was well-informed, but not overwhelmed with the philosophy and theology behind his methodology.  And his methodology was pretty well spelled out to the point where I felt like I could apply the stuff immediately.  Plus, he’s not as “out there” as some other authors I’ve read, so for people who are relatively new to this approach, it’s more accessible; he’s still relatively “conservative”.
    I actually just went to go visit Dan Kimball’s church this past Sunday, Vintage Faith Church.  Admittedly, I wasn’t that blown away, so I would recommend reading the book over visiting the church, but I am encouraged to see that we, as a global church, are making in-roads into this post-modern, post-liberal, post-christian generation (of which I happen to be part of).
    Let me know when you receive your freely shipped book.  I wouldn’t mind discussing it with someone.

Leave a Reply

