Uncategorized

Overhearing a conversation by Magic players at Borders Cafe.


Magic1:  I’ve read the Bible twice, so I’m qualified to be cynical about the Bible.
Magic2:  I went to Catholic school, so I didn’t read the whole thing, but we did study passages.
Magic3:  I haven’t read the Bible.  I’m gonna go read it right now. (He goes off to fetch a Bible from the Bible section).
Magic4:  So do you think the Bible is more a book of glory or of fear?
Magic1:  Fear.
Magic3:  (Returns)  Hmmm…”In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth…” hahahahaa…Magic1, you’re an expert in the Bible, why are some of these words in italics?
Magic1:  Lemme see…hmm…I’m not sure, I think it is because there are words that scribes disagreed about what they meant, so they’re not really sure.
Magic3:  Well, there are more than a few words that are in italics.  That’s not surprising.
Everyone joins in laughter
Magic3:  Ok, I’ve read enough of the Old Testament, I’m gonna look at the New Testament now.  Hmm…this is barely better than The Scarlet Letter.


Their misunderstanding of the facts is humorous and sad at the same time.  Their openness about the Bible is noteworthy…hahahaha…and they say kids nowadays aren’t interested in spiritual things.

Standard

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

