Uncategorized

An Ode to You


Trembling…
   Hiding…
      Silent…
Fearful that
The torch was lit for you


What’s inside your head?
All I see is your furrowed brow


Maybe it was
Maybe it wasn’t


     Come, come inside
     It might be scary
     But you’re safe
     Let me hold your hands 
     Let our knees touch like trees


I’m so sorry
It’s so messy here
I knew you were coming
But I didn’t want to pretend
But love is messy, isn’t it?


I’m sorry about my hands
Burned from holding my heart
They should be rugged
But they’re not


I’m sorry
I mispoke–I always do that
It isn’t safe here
But you’re loved

Standard

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

