Uncategorized

A friend recently confided to me that while he was passionately
involved with God’s work among the poor and disenfranchised, now that
he has become a father, he finds it hard to reconcile the two
loves.  In essence, what brought this tension to a fore was a
decision about where to live and where his son was going to go to
school.  I empathised with my brother, who is also a
minister.  He could not imagine seeing his son endangered because
of his own decision to minister among those who live in “bad”
neighborhoods and go to “bad” schools.  This was his choice, not
his son’s.  He conceded that God certainly could call out families
and not just individuals, but he pained, “I don’t know, Brian.  I
just don’t know.  What would you do?”

Standard

4 thoughts on “

  1. The safest place to be is in the will of God. 
    I believe this and LIVE this as I minister in the inner-city with my 3 beautiful daughters and a new baby boy on the way. It’s not my call – but God’s and they are His children more than they are mine…  it’s a thrill to trust Him.
    Peace,  chilly

  2. Chilly, good to hear from you. Praise God. It’s good to hear an answer from someone who’s living the answer. Where you at and what’s your ministry?

  3. Living in the innercity without kids, it would be easy for me to make a snap judgement. I don’t know what I would do. I do know my neighborhood, isn’t safe. I don’t feel in danger though. I know my neighbors. They know me. The schools in my neighborhood reek. The best and brightest children in my neighborhood aren’t getting well educated here. That makes me hesitant. Still it seems to me, the quality of schools and life changes when people are called to be involved. I would hope I would have the courage to count the cost, pick up my cross and fight for the down and out.

  4. i have struggled with that same decision for a long time. i finally came to the same point that chilly had: i have to trust God. if God has called me to the inner city, then i must trust Him with all of the consequences and costs of moving and working in the inner city. it’s hard and scary and i have doubts, but in the end, i am satisfied with trusting my almighty God.

Leave a Reply

