Uncategorized

Here we go

Here I am causing trouble.  But only because I saw photos of how
babies look when they are aborted at 8, 9, 10, 11, 22, and 24
weeks.  Perhaps I was doubly disturbed because I kept imagining
those photos being my son.

I’m not going to supply the link to the photos if only because I don’t
want to “use” those pictures in order to shock anyone.  The death
of those babies is too sacred.  But I will say this–I cannot
understand for the life of me how we as a society can sustain the
belief that abortion is primarily about a woman’s right to her own
body.  How can we divorce abortion from the harsh reality that it
is the intentional destruction of a prenatal baby–one who at only 8
weeks already has a body, arms, legs, and fingers?  8
weeks–that’s usually no more than 1 month after most women find out
that they’re pregnant.

I know that we can ask questions about rape and incest, but those are
distractions to the nature of abortion.  I know we can argue that
an unwanted child will suffer more in life than in death.  Or a
baby inflicted with a genetic or environmental disability that dooms
him or her to die soon after birth is not worth the heartache.  Or
a baby that will cost his or her mother’s life is not worth bringing to
term.  I know there are many difficult issues that arise in the
face of abortion–a matter I see rather black and white.

But let me say this:  Where is the community of Christ while these
babies are labeled “unwanted”?  Whom of us can step beyond the
rhetoric to be there for them?  Will I fight to make them
“wanted”–even welcomed into my own home and family?

I have no doubt God will hold accountable every parent, doctor,
activist, talking head, and politician whose hand, mouth, or pen aborts
an unborn baby.  But I wonder if God will also hold us–his children–accountable
for speaking frantically at a safe distance instead of violently
opening our homes, families, and arms to welcome into safety a place of
solace for them.  Will he fault us for failing to pray for mercy
and life?

Standard

8 thoughts on “

  1. yes… i believe it is our fault just as people who feel the need to commit suicide is a result of our own selfishness. we can’t take the time show these people the ‘love’ and ‘care’ they so dearly want and need. but… stuff like this… humanity will always view as grey areas.

  2. perhaps i’m not making the point. i mean, my first point is definitely that abortion is disturbing. but my main point is really the question about what we as the Christian community will do beyond activism and rhetoric?birth control, morning after pill? yeah, the topic of pregnancy is probably not as black and white as i make it out to be. but i think that standing for life probably costs more than what it costs us now.

  3. i believe that the world has made an objective action into something subjective to the condition of one’s own desire, one’s own heart. didn’t God command us, “thou shalt not kill?” how clearer can that be?

  4. One in four pregnancies in America end in abortion. This suggests that abortion, like dieting, has become part of the American “lifestyle”. Now I agree that we can be more accepting of fat people, and I for one am cheered by the Dove soap commercials, with their depictions of robust femininity. To some extent, we can tolerate more calories than we think we can. But ultimately I think you’d agree that the solution to unwanted calories is not to “make every calorie wanted”, but rather to have fewer in the first place, which requires a change in lifestyle. With unwanted babies, it has to be the same. Our deathstyle has somehow to be changed, though it is not obvious how.

  5. slackeur, good point. i guess multiple things should be pursued–have fewer unwanted pregnancies in the first place, change reluctant mothers into happy and responsible mothers, and welcoming unwanted babies that don’t have the benefit of either of the former.i know this doesn’t solve everything. and, like you said, it isn’t obvious to us how to bring about these things. but i think parallel approaches that break beyond the current stalemate and politicization will take us to a better place than we are now.

Leave a Reply

