Uncategorized

Boston Food Journal (…continued)


Thursday // Sept 29

Lunch – Prudential Center Food Court

After our Duck Tour (on a vehicle that
could go on land and sea), we ate at the mall to which the tour
returned us to.  I can’t remember the names of the restaurants we
ate at (except Panda Express, courtesy of Y.) but we had pizza,
Bostonian comfort food, and “Chinese” food.

The pizza was so-so.  We had a slice of steak pizza and another
that was similar to a combination.  What blew me away was that for
two slices of pizza and a small soda–it cost me $9!!  This is
mall food, for goodness sake!  It tasted like…mall pizza. 
The slice we had from MIT was much better.

The “comfort food” was a lot like Boston Market.  Sorry, I can’t
think of a better way to describe it.  We had 1/2 a chicken which
was okay, some mac and cheese, and some other fixings.  It was
better than Boston Market, but still didn’t truly taste like
home-cooking.  But, hey, what can I expect from food sitting under
a heat lamp?

The Panda Express was…I’m not gonna even try.

Dinner – Legal Seafood

After my dad heard about the cioppino
at Legal, he wanted to try it, so we went.  As expected, he loved
it.  Something I realized about the cioppino there was that the
seafood in the broth is not
overcooked, which is unusual for a seafood soup/stew.  In fact, it
was cooked perfectly.  Coupled with a clear broth, I realize that
this is one of the best cioppino’s I’ve had.  I don’t know if
“authentic” cioppino requires a chunky tomato broth/soup instead, but
the one at Legal tastes excellent.

Y. had some sort of shrimp scampi.  It sounds a bit boring–like
something you’d get at Red Lobster for $9.99, but it was actually quite
good.  The butter in the sauce wasn’t too overwhelming.  In
fact, it took its proper place in enhancing the flavor of the shrimp
and tying everything else together.  Al dente linguini, fresh
shrimp, a clean well-balanced sauce–yummm.

I got the seafood gumbo.  The waiter got all weird about it
because it was from the lunch menu.  I suspect he didn’t
appreciate the lower tip that would result from ordering an item half
the price of a dinner item.  I hate it when waiters reveal their
concern for their tip more than making it a pleasant dining
experience.  Anyway, it was a black bean and seafood gumbo. 
It was surprisingly “cleaner” in taste and appearance than one would
expect for a black bean stew, but it still had that heaviness. 
The seafood was, once again, cooked perfectly, not overcooked and
rubbery.  With the white rice and green tabasco sauce, I was quite
happy with this dish.

I also tried a “Red Eye”, which is an oyster shooter with Skyy vodka,
tobasco sauce, cocktail sauce, and fresh horse radish.  This was
my first oyster shooter ever.  When I first got it, everything was
separated.  I wanting to just down the whole thing, but the vodka
kept hitting me hard.  Finally, my brain caught up and I mixed up
the whole thing and slurped it down.  It was pretty good. 
But, at $3.95, I would have rather had it in a half shell without the
vodka.

For dessert, we shared some ice cream.  Big deal, right. 
Well, among the three flavors we had, there was a pineapple
sorbet.  Man, it reminded me of fresh pineapple from Hawaii and
juicy pineapple gelatto from Rome.  It was soo good.

Friday // Sept 30

Lunch – Roy Moore Lobster Co.

If you think you’ve tried fresh
lobster, think again.  Roy Moore pumps in deep sea water into
their lobster tanks.  Situated in the idyllic coastal town of
Rockport, Roy Moore serves up the sweetest, freshest, and cheapest
lobster you can get.  The funny thing is, this isn’t really a
restaurant.  It’s more like a shack.  You walk through the
dingy quarters past the tanks to the back.  There, you have a
postcard view of their little harbor with fishing boats.  The back
porch is just a simple greyed wood porch with lobster crates stacked
along the sides as tables and chairs.  The lobster is $12/ea (1.25
lbs ea) or 3 for $34.  They boil it, crack it, and serve it to
you.  We each had our own lobster.  My dad had 3 bowls of
clam chowder, hahahaah.  But it was really good, so I don’t blame
him.  I’m not big on crustaceans mainly because I’m so lazy, but
this was an excellent lobster.  Juicy, sweet, fresh lobster. 
I passed on the butter because it just ruins the whole point of having
fresh lobster.  Thanks C. for the recommendation!

Dinner – The Paramount

This restaurant was voted the best
neighborhood restaurant in Boston.  Located in Beacon Hill, an
expensive neighborhood in Boston, it is surprisingly affordable. 
I had the sirloin steak tips.  The waiter said it was voted the
best steak tips in Boston 10 years in a row.  So I got it,
expecting, well, decent steak.  Boy was a I wrong.  This was
one of the best steak I’ve ever had
This was no normal steak and potatoes (although that’s how it
came).  It was perfectly seared on the outside, but tenderly
medium-rare on the inside.  It was as if this steak was made the
palate…I know that sounds really dumb, but that’s the best way I can
describe it…like a shoe or pair of jeans that actually fit. 
Moreover, the taste was so complex, the flavors just danced in my
mouth.  Was it sweet?  savory?  It was all the good
things you could do to beef brought together in harmony–with depth,
layers of flavor that unfold.  I tried to find out what they
marinated the beef in, but no luck.

Saturday // Oct 1

Dinner – The Paramount

Floored by the previous night’s
experience, we went again!  This time, I had the lamb chops. 
Again, amazing.  How do they get that combination of a seared
crust and tender flesh?  What made this dish even better was that
it came on top of a goat cheese polenta.  One of the best
polenta’s I’ve ever had.

Sunday // Oct 2

Lunch – Panera

After church, we went to Panera, an
artisan sandwich chain.  Never tried it before.  It was a bit
pricey for sandwiches, but pretty good.  Y.’s sandwich was the
best–the chicken tomesto sandwich, which she got with a bowl of Cuban
black bean soup.

Dinner – The Barking Crab

Having spent nearly a week in Boston,
none of us had yet had any fried seafood, so we headed over to the
Barking Crab.  We had fried cod, oysters, soft shell crab, clams,
and crabcakes.  The clams were a bit “clammy” but the others were
excellent, especially the oysters.  The cod was very fresh and
flaky, a rarity for fish and chips, and the crab cake was unusually
fresh and didn’t weigh your stomach down.  The clam chowder wasn’t
anything to write home about (funny how they were like the 10th place
to boast being voted Boston’s best chowder).  I did wish that the
batter on everything was crispier, but that might be the style. 
But with a small band playing great cover songs, an open air view of
the Boston skyline, seated next to the water, it was a great way to
spend our last evening in town.

Monday // Oct 3

Lunch – Figs

To celebrate my mom’s birthday, we took
her to the pizza restaurant of the local celebrity chef, Todd
English.  Never heard of him, but the pizza was pretty good. 
This crust was so thin, it was unbelievable.  My mom picked a half
and half pizza–half steak and cheese, half portabello.  The steak
and cheese was a bit too manly for me, but the portabello mushroom side
was nice and savory.  The pizza’s so thin though, I would’ve like
more.  And I would’ve especially liked to try something with
tomato sauce.  Oh well.
Standard

4 thoughts on “

  1. I really wish you’d go into more detail about that panda express meal… the way you seemed to just disregard it, I’d be led to believe you didn’t even give it a try! equal rights for pandas!

Leave a Reply

