Uncategorized

Italichino

For lunch today, I made myself pan-seared lamb chop, marinated in balsamic vinaigrette, medium-rare.  Along with it I ate spaghetti tossed with hot garlic oil, a melted four cheese blend, and red pepper flakes.  It took me probably a total of 15 minutes to cook.  This is exactly what I like–no nonsense, non-flashy Italian food.

I must say that, like Chinese food, in general, I do not like to pay a lot for Italian food.  I think a pricey Italian meal tells you the same thing as a pricey Chinese meal:  it’s either crazy fancy–or its overpriced and catered to ignorant Americans.  Sorry, that’s true at least 75% of the time.

Pasta–the kind you eat in Italia–even if you do it right, is quite simple and inexpensive to make.  Chinese stir fry–even if done right–is very simple and inexpensive to cook.  But they both have heart and soul.  They both should be eaten family style.  They both should make you plump.  They both taste best when people are shouting all around you and a little gets on your white shirt.

I have no grand thought to conclude this post.  But let me concede one difference…I refuse to eat my Chinese food surrounded by pictures of busty 30-50 year old Chinese women.  If you don’t understand what I’m talking about, then you haven’t been to Buca di Beppo.

Off to make an espresso … or tea … ?

Standard

6 thoughts on “Italichino

  1. “For lunch today, I made myself pan-seared lamb chop, marinated in balsamic vinaigrette, medium-rare.  Along with it I ate spaghetti tossed with hot garlic oil, a melted four cheese blend, and red pepper flakes.  It took me probably a total of 15 minutes to cook.  This is exactly what I like–no nonsense, non-flashy Italian food.”how the heck do you do it =/ ….im in home ec this semester but i doubt i’ll ever be able to learn how to cook all that ever -_-;;

  2. i had this big argument with my mom once about how chinese people suck at marketing chinese food. italian food is expensive yet hecka cheap to make. chinese food tries to sell itself as cheap, cheaper, cheapest. we should all boycott expensive italian food.

Leave a Reply

