Uncategorized

Shopping for Mayo (another pointless entry of a foodie)

So…I love mayonnaise.  I know most of you think it’s like popped zits, but I find it a welcome creamy addition to my sandwiches, burgers, and often as a dip (in its aioli form).  No, I don’t put it on everything.  I don’t eat it by the spoonfuls.  Nor am I ever “in the mood” for mayonnaise.  So please don’t come around with walnut prawns or gallons of thousand island because “I thought you like mayo”.  It’s sweet of you, but its a spread, not a staple.

In any case, we ran out (or I ran out–my wife hates mayo).  So I went to Safeway to buy some more.  I spent no less than 20 minutes standing in the aisle comparing all the mayos.  I generally lean toward the “light” mayos since mayo is quite caloric and fatty.  I compared the various saturated, transfat, polyunsaturated, monounsaturated fat contents.  I read the ingredients to see how many unpronouncable ingredients there were (about 1/8 of the ingredients are generally double astericked to indicate that these ingredients are not normal in a mayo recipe).  I compared the prices.  I compared jar versus squeeze bottle.  There was Best Foods, Kraft, Smart Balance, Safeway brand.  And then…

And then in the adjacent section, there were “specialty” spreads.  Hmm…  My eye catches this jar, especially since it advertises “expeller pressed oil”.  I have no clue what that means, but it sounds fancy.  I check the nutrition facts…definitely not “light” mayo.  But expiration date:  Nov 2006, not 2016!  And then I check the ingredient list…this is where you learn that I gravitate toward packaged foods that have simple ingredient lists. 

INGREDIENTS:  Expeller pressed canola oil, pasteurized whole eggs, filtered water, honey, distilled white vinegar, sea salt, dry mustard, lemon juice concentrate. 

No hydrogenated fat, sugar, corn syrup or preservatives used. 

GLUTEN FREE. 

Made from third party verified, non-genetically engineered canola seed.

This has about 1/3 of the number of ingredients as all the other mayos.  I can pronounce every ingredient.  It sounds hand made even though it’s probably not.  And it reads more like a recipe than a chemistry experiment.  This is REAL mayonnaise.

Standard

Leave a Reply

