Uncategorized

As of today…

…The man I respect the most is Warren Buffett.  Perhaps because he is the sort of man my dad would respect the most.  I have no doubt that if my parents became billionaires that their dying wish for me would be to be smart, be loving, and don’t be spoiled.

See the NY Times article on the man who hates inherited wealth enough to bequeath a relatively tiny minority of his $40+ billion to his children and the overwhelming majority to a foundation that does not bear his own name.

To my good friend:  You’ve gotta give up on The Donald.  No doubt Buffett has more glory now than Trump, but his glory has more worth.

NY Times excerpts:

“I love it when I’m around the country club, and I hear people talking
about the debilitating effects of a welfare society,” he said. “At the
same time, they leave their kids a lifetime and beyond of food stamps.
Instead of having a welfare officer, they have a trust officer. And
instead of food stamps, they have stocks and bonds.”


Fred P. Hochberg, dean of the Milano School for Management and Urban
Policy at the New School, which has a large nonprofit-management
department, said Mr. Buffett’s historic contribution to the Gates
Foundation was in character.

“It’s egoless,” he said. “Warren’s name is not on the door.”

Standard

2 thoughts on “As of today…

  1. Of course I like Buffett more than Trump. If I were a billionaire, would I be swinging around with eurotrash girlfriends and appearing on billboards? Okay, well, even so, my heart is with Buffett. Buffett’s annual reports are considerable better reading than Trump’s last two books.

  2. Of course I like Buffett more than Trump. If I were a billionaire, would I be swinging around with eurotrash girlfriends and appearing on billboards? Okay, well, even so, my heart is with Buffett. Buffett’s annual reports are considerably better reading than Trump’s last two books.

Leave a Reply

