Lent

Lent Day 3 – The Mark of the Beast

StacheI haven’t quite begun the experiential calendar yet, even though I’m the one who created/adapted it.  So bear with me.

Much to my wife’s chagrin, I’ve decided to give up shaving for Lent.  How will you manage without your beautiful countenance?  I know, I know.  But kidding aside, I’ve given up shaving (1) because I was so moved by bearing the ashen Cross on my forehead all day I thought seeing my hairy face each morning and evening would be a strong visible reminder, again, of my unstately creatureliness; and (2) biblical folks have often given up the blade as a sign of mourning, sometimes mourning over their own sin.

Since my wife finds my blotchy growth patches unsightly, I may inadvertently be fasting from a few other things too.  But a promise is a promise…

Standard

Leave a Reply

